Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination

Kyoto Japan 2007: After walking through the historic Gion District my friend Shawn and I continued to wonder and stumbled upon Yasaka [a Shinto] Shrine.  Drawn by the light of the lanterns we were pleasantly surprised by our find.

Lanterns in Yasaka Shrine

Find the original challenge here

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    Perfect photo for the challenge.

    1. Wanderlust23 says:

      Thank you, I’d love to put one or all three in my home.

  2. Zen says:

    Very oriental. I like it! 🙂

  3. Happy New Year! Friends were talking about going to Japan in the summer, and so wanted to go. Nice pic.

    1. Wanderlust23 says:

      Happy new year to you too! Did they decide on it for sure? They are going to have an amazing time, jealous!

      1. Yes, they did! They´ve just bought the tickets. I´m so jealous. 🙂

  4. What a great shot and definitely a good interpretation of the challenge! I used to love paper lanterns and parasols. My whole room had a Japanese theme at school.

What say you?