Have you been to Gozo? Go, See & Explore

If the answer is no then please let me try to persuade you with this post.

Gozo Channel Line

First read about Malta here.  I don’t think I need to use much of my power of persuasion here as Gozo commands your attention immediately.

Arriving at Gozo

When Jen and I researched our trip it was Gozo, specifically the azure window, that sold us.  We didn’t know what else we were going to do there but spending time in Gozo was the first priority.

Gozo Landscape

Gozo Landscape 2

In the end we didn’t stay on the island and decided that it would be cutting it too close if we stayed the night before we had to fly so we choose to stay on Malta for the duration of our trip.  Then we choose Valletta as it is the capital.

We might have choosen different if we realised how big Malta really is.  It took us just under an hour (by cab) to get to the port for the ferry to get to Gozo.

Signs Gozo

Once there it was all incrediby easy.  Everyone speaks english and everyone is friendly, warm and helpful.

Christ the Redeemer

When we got to the ferry we purchased tickets and decided that we would also use the tourist bus.  Gozo is not as small as we thought it was going to be so this was the ideal way to see everything and spend most of our time at the Azure Window.

Cave of Wonders - Gozo

I have so many pictures of the window that when I look back on them I find myself recovering the deleted photos to make sure I didn’t prefer an the angle in them to the ones I’ve choosen to keep.

Azure WIndow 1

Base of Azure Window

Azure Window - 3

Azure Window - Close Up

Malta and Gozo are a photographer’s dream come to life.

The light and shade and colours helped me to learn to get out of automatic mode and use different settings on my camera.  I had to keep adjusting to get the image that I wanted.

There is another island called Comino but we didn’t have time and it wasn’t warm enough to swim.  I think a summer trip is on the cards.  So go to Gozo, or don’t and leave this paradise for me.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. I was so happy to read that you enjoyed the beauty of the Maltese islands…my homeland.there was so much more for you to see….

    1. Melissa says:

      Way too much to see in such a little time, I went for a long weekend and I think I need at least a week.

  2. Mandy says:

    Lovely, lovely, lovely post! I really am keen on a holiday to Malta and Gozo now.

    1. Melissa says:

      Mandy you would love it. Take the husband, I am going to take David I think it is such a good destination for all. Couples, friends. So beautiful, the scenery the people and the food. I can’t wait to go back.

  3. JR says:

    It does look deliciously wonderful!

    1. Melissa says:

      Doesn’t it?! The colors are splendid.

  4. Very nice post and cool photos!

    1. Melissa says:

      Thanks, it really is a photographer’s paradise. Tell your son!!!

      1. Will do, thanks! I know he’d love it. He’s photographing more people than scenery now. I know he’ll get there!

        1. Melissa says:

          Cool, yeah I need to photograph more people now!

          1. That would be cool. Looking forward to those posts. Lol

What say you?