London / Paralympic Games / World Events

The Buzz Continues with the London 2012 Paralympic Games

Mandeville London 2012 Paralympics Mascot

Mandeville London 2012 Paralympics Mascot

This Wednesday 28th August the opening ceremony for the Paralympics were staged in style.  What I saw was quite good but as it was in the middle of the week I did not catch it all.

I’ve never paid much attention to the Paralympics before but neither have I paid much attention to the Olympics either.  My surprising (to myself) excitement for these games is definitely down to living in the host city.  All impending doom dissipated once it was clear that London in fact would not implode under the weight of way more tourists.  There is not to say that there were no delays or issues, but nothing big enough to warrant my previous disdain.  White flag is waiving.

The Paralympic games are being covered by Channel 4 not BBC and I have read some complaints about this.  I’m not sure why this is the case but as a viewer I’ve not found that the coverage or commentator quality is any less.  The telly is set to the games just as it was when the Olympics were on.  While I haven’t seen many events yet as I write this post I’ve just seen Richard Whitehead, a double leg amputee storm the 200m race and take gold in a very impressive showing.  As they came around the bend he was way in the back and then he just took off and finished well ahead of second place.

Channel 4 has been running adverts for some time now that I’ve mainly seen on the tube for a film they have done to introduce us to the Superhumans.  After seeing that race I completely agree with that sentiment.  It is so amazing to see the technology which supports a person who may not have all their limbs to allow them to smash a race and take gold.  If you have not seen the race for the mens 200m then YouTube it.

I will of course be supporting the same teams as before Jamaica, Canada, and team GB.  However there is an addition to that list.  On our flight to London from Toronto last week we noticed that an athlete was on our flight.  She was surrounded by coaches and we could see that her kit said Bermuda.  When watching the opening ceremony, having completely forgotten seeing her a few days before, David recognised her as she represented her country.  Her name is Jessica Lewis, she is the sole athlete representing Bermuda.  Go team Bermuda!  David and I will be attending an event next Sunday and I will be sure to have comments on that.  There have been record sales and many events are selling out but the question is, will you be watching these games?

For amazing photographs of the games so far check out Londoner John Godleys blog here

Cover picture source

8 thoughts on “The Buzz Continues with the London 2012 Paralympic Games

  1. Thanks for the shout out!

    My interest in the Beijing games was peripheral at best, and I don’t even remember the previous ones happening (!). Will have to see if my interest can be maintained for Rio (or alternatively, I’ll just move to Rio and say it’s local…)

    Hope you enjoy the event.

    • You are very welcome. Your photography is too stunning not to be shared. I’m actually excited for the Olympics in Rio…or maybe I’m just excited for the opening and closing ceremonies.

    • While coverage is great here I suppose it isn’t so much in the rest of the world. I wonder how the coverage was in Canada. There were 6 athletes from Mississauga alone on our team and since that was publicised when I was home I assumed the games would get decent cover but I don’t know.

      I think after these games (which have upped the Paralympics profile) Rio Paralympics will continue with that high bar which is now set.

  2. Good post and nice design! I have to admit that I had never paid that much attention to the Paralympics before this year. Maybe, I took a look at the final results once or twice, and that´s it. I was rather impressed with the whole event and competitiveness. Mind you, those silly names, T4, T, etc, were quite confussing. I guess it is hard to give them a name.

  3. I’ve had so much fun looking through your blog that I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award. Check out Girl and Her Pink Backpack for the rules and pass it on.

Leave a Reply

