The Dollhouse

I’ve been in Toronto for the past few days and this time around I’ve explored parts of the city that I never knew as a kid.  In the past I always spent time in the west end or downtown.  The friends D and I were staying with live in the east end.  And so does this magnificent/creepy/weird dollhouse.

My friend Shawn told me that we definitely had to make a stop by this house as he and his partner found it randomly last year when they were house hunting.  It apparently made the news at one point but I’m sure that was long ago.  We pulled up and I was delighted and horrified at the same time.  Who would do this to their house, what do they look like?  After stoping and staring and taking a few snaps we walked around the neighbourhood.  On the way back the owners came out and their outfits definitely matched what you would think it would living in a house like this.

Upon first hearing about the house I thought only Americans do things like this and sure enough when we pulled up their flag was on the house as well.  The flag is apparently new so not sure if they are in fact Canadian or our cousins from the south.  Either way it was a freakishly cool experience.  They have a little Richard doll too.  More pictures to come of this house when I get to London.

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    That’s so MF weird. I thought you were going to show a house that was painted in cutesy colours, which I would have liked.

    Nope.

    1. Wanderlust23 says:

      If only Jen, if only. When I show some close up photos you will see even more how weird it is. I think some of the dolls were used in horror films.

      1. Jen says:

        Puzzling. And immensely creepy

        Sent from my iPhone

  2. Emm says:

    Hee hee, that is freaky cool! Although, I’m trying not to imagine how outfits that match “what you would think it would living in a house like this” would look like!!

    1. Wanderlust23 says:

      Yeah, the outfits weren’t that over the top but pretty eccentric. I wonder if this house has even been filmed at all. I will have to investigate.

  3. Sof says:

    Was it almost as cool as the man who climed the fence in his doti?

    1. Wanderlust23 says:

      Sof, NOTHING is as cool as the man who climbed the fence in his doti.

  4. That’s weird! I’d hate to be their neighbor.

    1. Wanderlust23 says:

      Same, it is all well and fun to drive by it, point and laugh and then leave. But the poor neighbours! The street itself is super nice and then this eye sore.

  5. Ah, I will have to check this out!

  6. Such a weirdly cool house. We can see houses painted in bright colours, with peculiar entrances, etc. But, nothing like this. Thanks for the picture! 🙂

    1. Wanderlust23 says:

      Welcome. Yes I’ve never come across anything like this in London, and I’m ok with that.

  7. ann says:

    yikes! i was wondering why on earth i wasn’t getting notifications when you post…then i realized i’d forgotten to subscribe. (&%*#!) can’t wait for more of your wanderings…

    1. Wanderlust23 says:

      Glad that is sorted 🙂

  8. IM Sirius says:

    I don’t think I’d want to live next to that. 🙂

    1. Wanderlust23 says:

      Same here, the only good thing is the house prices are a bit cheaper. I don’t think it is worth it.

  9. where is this house located? do you have an address? I am a documentary filmmaker and I am interested in filming some shots at this place.

    1. Melissa says:

      Hi there, no sorry I don’t have an address.

What say you?