England / London / Olympic Games / World Events

Olympic News Roundup

We are well into the Olympics and things appear to be going ok, dare I say really well.  All the forewarning about travel disruptions and congestion in the city has been heeded and people have listened so much that shops are upset now because the number of customers has dropped.

Last week the opening ceremony was a hit with the British public.  Internationally I know it was made fun of a bit for being cheesy but I think that is fairly standard.  Remember the Canadian opening or was it closing where we had lumberjacks in plaid?  I hung my head a bit in shame over that one but I guess it is part of what people think when they think of Canada.

I didn’t end up going to see the men’s or the women’s cycling but I did watch the women’s.  I was busy on a street art tour last Saturday.  On the tour I ended up meeting the lovely Kat who blogs at Lady Loves Cake.  She offered up free Olympic tickets to get into the park.  D and I jumped on that chance and headed over there after the tour (thanks!).

The security to get through to the part is as intense as the airport.  I’m not complaining though, I rather that than the alternative.  Once inside I got a little bit excited.  We planned to do a few of the self guided walks around.  We were there about 20 minutes and I got bored.  Well we had just been walking around east London for a few hours so we decided to go home.

Don’t get me wrong, the park is nice, they have done a good job but I was tired and it turns out I will see it more fully in September.  I am doing what I thought I would never do during these games…going to see a few events.

What happened this week:

  • GOOOOOOOOOOOOOLD for team GB!!  It was kind of like a dam that got really full up and has now broken.  Once they got their first gold a flood started and they have been steadily racking them up.  Still no gold for Canada.
  • 8 Badminton players from China, South Korea, and Indonesia were expelled for trying to fix their games.  What?!  Badminton!
  • A South Korean weightlifter dislocated his elbow.  My friend sent me the article and I’ve been traumatized ever since.  If you are squeamish at all then DO NOT look it up.
  • A Russian cyclist was sent home after failing her drug test.
  • A few days into the games it was apparent that there were rows upon rows of empty seats. They offered them up to the army but I haven’t heard what they will be doing further than that to address it.

It is being said that it is a great time to be a tourist here, but I say it is great to be a resident since things have been pretty quiet.  I’m happy none of the travel nightmarish scenarios have come to fruition.  Everyone is getting on with their days.  Let’s home it remains this way.

11 thoughts on “Olympic News Roundup

  1. Hello, it´s my first time on your blog. I´m an expat from Florida that moved to Ecuador, South America. Sometimes I long for time back in the States as I´m sure you have with Canada. Very exciting to hear about the Olympics especially seeing events on TV and knowing it´s happening just next door basically.

    • Welcome Stewart! Olympic fever has definitely swept the nation. Events like this make me feel very patriotic and I am missing home but fortunately I get to go home in a few days.

  2. Reblogged this on Spinster's Compass and commented:
    This re-blog sums up my thoughts pretty well, and also adds a few news tidbits that I didn’t even know about. I may do my own blog post at a later date (depending on my medical issues), but this re-blog will do for now.

      • Watched the Olympics almost all day today. It was a great action-packed day. :-) And it’s about time that Great Britain picked up the pace with the medals! I was wondering WTF was going on. :-|

  3. Yay! I’m enjoying reading about people’s accounts of life here during the Olympics and this is a good one. I don’t really have anything to say except that I’m a little disappointed there aren’t more tourists around for me to chat to. All told, most people are saying the same – it is a bit quiet and we hope to encounter more tourists after the events.

    • This comment went to spam as well! Wonder why, anyways I am so happy the tourists haven’t taken over. I have faith that I can get to heathrow and out of it in decent time.

Leave a Reply

