Canada / Day Trips / Family / Friends / Montreal / Ontario / Quebec / Street Art / Toronto / Travel / Waterfalls

There’s no place like home

This time last year I was gearing up to go to Canada.  I spent five weeks from mid August to September relaxing and visiting family and friends.  Every once in a while I need a break from Europe and I am itching for one now.  Alas, it won’t be until December if all goes as planned.

I know it’s still 4 months away but I am excited and kinda counting down.  Let me take the opportunity to show you the diversity that is the southern Canadian landscape through pictures of my last visit.

Yonge-Dundas Square – Toronto

My university friends and I have fallen into a tradition of getting together once a year.  After graduation we all went our separate ways to our respective cities/towns but still managed to get together.  Although I’ve been living in London I have managed to make it back the last two years.  This year I couldn’t.

During this visit we went to Algonquin Provincial Park.  Our site was about a 6 hour drive from Toronto.  It was a fun trip, until we realised we had a family with a baby beside our site and the baby cried all night.   Then we got rained out.  My friend’s boyfriend saved the weekend by letting us stay at his cottage.

After the camping/cottage trip I travelled to Montreal (first time) to meet up with a friend I met my first year in London.  He has moved back to Winnipeg.

A day trip to Quebec city

After Montreal and Quebec city D came to visit for 2 weeks.  We packed in as much as we could and that also included a day trip to Niagara falls.

We just took in the falls and skipped the touristy shops but next time we go we’ll have a walk through just so he can get the full Niagara experience.

10 thoughts on “There’s no place like home

  1. Did you do Maid of the MIST? one of the best things there, i think. if you get the adventurer’s pack (from the info booth) you get really great deals on GOOD not commercialized things to do.

    I miss Ontario now!!

  2. We didn’t but will next time. We didn’t bring a change of clothes. Thanks for the tip, we looked through a couple brochures but none of what was on offer was attractive.

    I miss it too, hope to be there soon….

  3. Wow. Your country truly is exquisite. It is the natural beauty that makes my heart ache for South Africa so I can just imagine it calls to you too. Your photos are fabulous!

    I’m also feeling trapped here. I wanted a winter sun holiday this year but my inlaws, whom I adore, are visiting so it looks more likely that we’ll be doing icy cold winter markets in Europe instead.

Leave a Reply

